top of page
Vallée verte

The Global Pact for the Environment

The Global Pact for the Environment project originated from an international civil society initiative. It was proposed in June 2017 by an international network of a hundred distinguished jurists (professors, judges, lawyers) representing more than forty countries from the North and the South.

Founded on both the right to live in a healthy environment and the duty to care for the environment, the Global Pact will provide citizens with the legal means to be actors in the protection of the planet. It will recognize the fundamental principles of prevention and reparation of environmental damage and establish the tools for their implementation (rights to information and public participation, right of access to environmental justice).

It will promote the harmonization and clarification of standards for businesses, to avoid environmental dumping that is as dangerous for jobs as it is for the planet. In each State, it will lead legislators to enact new laws that are more protective of the environment. It will inspire judges to adopt more ambitious legal solutions.

For more information, visit the website of the Pact.

bottom of page

top of page
Vallée verte

Le Pacte mondial pour l'environnement

Le projet de Pacte mondial pour l’environnement trouve son origine dans une initiative de la société civile internationale. Il a été proposé en juin 2017 par un réseau international d’une centaine d’éminents juristes (professeurs, juges, avocats) représentant plus de quarante pays du Nord et du Sud.

Fondé tant sur le droit de vivre dans un environnement sain que sur le devoir de prendre soin de l’environnement, le Pacte mondial donnera aux citoyens les moyens juridiques d’être des acteurs de la protection de la planète. Il reconnaîtra les principes fondamentaux de prévention et de réparation des dommages faits à l’environnement et établira les outils pour les mettre en œuvre (droits à l’information et à la participation du public, droit d’accès à la justice environnementale).

Il favorisera l’harmonisation et la clarification des normes à destination des entreprises, afin d’éviter un dumping environnemental aussi dangereux pour les emplois que pour la planète. Dans chaque Etat, il conduira les législateurs à édicter de nouvelles lois plus protectrices de l’environnement. Il inspirera les juges pour l’adoption de solutions juridiques plus ambitieuses.

Pour plus d'information, visitez le site web du Pacte.

bottom of page