top of page

Polluter pays principle

According to the polluter pays principle (PPP), those who pollute must pay the costs of preventing, mitigating and repairing the environmental damage caused by pollution. So, when a company's activities have a negative impact on the environment, it must pay to restore the environment and fix its mistakes. For example, if a business generates waste or hazardous chemicals as a byproduct of its operations, it must pay for the safe disposal of these potentially harmful substances.


Reflecting environmental damage in the costs of products or services can encourage individuals, businesses and governments to change their behavior and avoid further environmental degradation. It's not just about money: it's about preserving the air we breathe, the water we drink, the food we eat and, more generally, life on Earth.

The PPP was first formulated as an economic principle in an OECD recommendation dating back to 1972. This principle states that it is the responsibility of the polluter to assume the "expenses linked to the implementation of the above-mentioned measures decided by public authorities to ensure an acceptable state of the environment.

bottom of page

top of page

Principe du pollueur-payeur

Selon le principe du pollueur-payeur (PPP), ceux qui polluent doivent payer les coûts de prévention, d'atténuation et de réparation des dommages environnementaux causés par la pollution. Ainsi, lorsque les activités d'une entreprise ont un impact négatif sur l'environnement, elle doit payer pour restaurer l'environnement et réparer ses erreurs. Par exemple, si une entreprise génère des déchets ou des produits chimiques dangereux en tant que sous-produits de ses activités, elle doit payer pour l'élimination en toute sécurité de ces substances potentiellement nocives. 


Le fait de refléter les dommages causés à l'environnement dans les coûts des produits ou des services peut encourager les individus, les entreprises et les États à modifier leur comportement et à éviter de nouvelles dégradations de l'environnement. Ce n'est pas qu'une question d'argent : il s'agit de préserver l'air que nous respirons, l'eau que nous buvons, la nourriture que nous mangeons et, plus généralement, la vie sur Terre.

Le PPP a été formulé pour la première fois en tant que principe économique dans une recommandation de l'OCDE datant de 1972. Ce principe stipule qu'il incombe au pollueur d'assumer les "dépenses liées à la mise en œuvre des mesures susmentionnées décidées par les pouvoirs publics pour assurer un état acceptable de l'environnement".

bottom of page