top of page

Our missions

The Green Rights Coalition aims to build a movement for the recognition of our environmental rights and duties. 

The Coalition intends to be a catalyst for research and education regarding green rights. We pay particular attention to youth, whose role and impact in climate negotiations are essential.

Forêt
Drapeaux des pays

Our mission at the international level

Like the Global Pact Coalition, the Green Rights Coalition advocates for the adoption of an international text enshrining environmental rights and duties. This text would aim to fill the current gaps in international environmental law and contribute to the emergence of a global legal framework more protective of natural balances. 

This text would apply in a universal and transversal manner to all environmental policies, thus distinguishing itself from technical and sectoral conventions while complementing them. Based on the right to a healthy environment, it would be the first international environmental treaty, taken in its entirety. In essence, it could be constituted as a form of “pact”, a new social contract aimed at rebuild international society with a view to increased environmental protection

The Green Rights Coalition is convinced that by recognizing environmental rights and duties on a global scale, such an instrument would generate dynamics of strengthening national legal frameworks. It would encourage legislators to adopt laws that are more protective of the environment, while inspiring the case law of national supreme courts.

Together, we can lay the foundations for a world where the preservation of our planet is embedded in the very fabric of international law.

Our mission at the regional level

Regionally, we support various campaigns aimed at the recognition and protection of environmental rights. This is particularly evident within the European, Inter-American and African human rights systems. We actively work to raise awareness and mobilize these regions in order to promote policies and actions in favor of preserving our environment.

Nature désert
vagues

Our mission at the national level

On the national level, the Green Rights Coalition advocates for the inclusion of environmental rights in national constitutions

Although the right to a healthy environment is recognized directly or indirectly by many countries, many of them have not enshrined it in their Constitution and many other rights related to the environment are not protected. Thus, it is imperative to extend and strengthen this recognition by encouraging good practices between States. 

The Green Rights Coalition actively supports national initiatives to promote the effective implementation of environmental rights, such as the Green Amendment initiative in the United States. Furthermore, thanks to our network of experts specializing in green rights, we work to serve citizens to raise awareness among civil society about these environmental rights and duties.

 

Join us in this crucial mission and contribute to positive change for our planet and future generations.

bottom of page

top of page

Nos missions

La Green Rights Coalition a pour objectif de construire un mouvement en faveur de la reconnaissance de nos droits et devoirs environnementaux. 

La Coalition entend être un catalyseur de travaux de recherche et d’éducation concernant les green rights. À travers nos articles, notre blog et nos ressources éducatives, nous apportons une attention toute particulière à la jeunesse dont le rôle dans les négociations climatiques est essentiel.

Forêt
Drapeaux des pays

Notre mission à l’échelle internationale

Comme la Global Pact Coalition, la Green Rights Coalition plaide pour l’adoption d’un texte international consacrant les droits et devoirs environnementaux. Ce texte a pour vocation de combler les lacunes actuelles du droit international de l’environnement et de contribuer à l’émergence d’un cadre juridique mondial plus protecteur des équilibres naturels. 

Ce texte s’appliquerait d’une façon universelle et transversale à l’ensemble des politiques environnementales, se distinguant ainsi des conventions techniques et sectorielles tout en les complétant. Fondé sur le droit à un environnement sain, il serait le premier traité international sur l’environnement pris dans sa globalité. En substance, il pourrait être constitué comme une forme de “pacte”, un nouveau contrat social visant à refonder la société internationale dans une optique de protection environnementale accrue

La Green Rights Coalition est convaincue qu’en reconnaissant les droits et devoirs environnementaux à l’échelle mondiale, un tel instrument susciterait une dynamique de renforcement des cadres juridiques nationaux. Il encouragerait les législateurs à adopter des lois plus protectrices de l’environnement, tout en inspirant les jurisprudences des cours suprêmes nationales.

Ensemble, nous pouvons poser les fondations d'un monde où la préservation de notre planète est ancrée dans le tissu même de la législation internationale.

Notre mission à l’échelle régionale

Sur le plan régional, nous apportons notre soutien à diverses campagnes visant la reconnaissance et la protection des droits environnementaux. Cela se manifeste notamment au sein des systèmes européen, interaméricain et africain des droits de l'homme. Nous travaillons activement pour sensibiliser et mobiliser ces régions afin de promouvoir des politiques et des actions en faveur de la préservation de notre environnement.

Nature désert
vagues

Notre mission à l’échelle nationale

Sur le plan national, la Green Rights Coalition plaide pour l’inscription des droits environnementaux dans les constitutions nationales. 

Si le droit à un environnement sain est reconnu directement ou indirectement par de nombreux pays, beaucoup d’entre eux ne l’ont pas inscrit dans leur Constitution et de nombreux autres droits liés à l’environnement ne sont pas protégés. Ainsi, il est impératif d’étendre et de renforcer cette reconnaissance en encourageant les bonnes pratiques entre les États. 

La Green Rights Coalition soutient activement des initiatives nationales visant à promouvoir la mise en œuvre effective des droits environnementaux, telles que l’initiative du Green Amendment aux États-Unis. Par ailleurs, grâce à notre réseau d’experts spécialisés dans les green rights, nous travaillons au service des citoyens pour sensibiliser la société civile sur ces droits et devoirs environnementaux.

 

Rejoignez-nous dans cette mission cruciale et contribuez à un changement positif pour notre planète et les générations futures.

bottom of page