top of page

Campaigns

The Green Rights Coalition is stepping up its actions, and we are particularly proud of our progress. Discover some of our most recent projects. Explore the details of our initiatives, learn who benefits from our support, and understand how we are taking action to shape a more environmentally friendly future. We invite you to learn more about our concrete impact and how everyone can contribute to this crucial cause.

Copie de Template Insta (6).jpg

Coalition for the right to a healthy environment

The Global Coalition of Civil Society, Indigenous Peoples, Social Movements and Local Communities for the Universal Recognition of the Human Right to a Clean, Healthy and Sustainable Environment, of which the Green Rights Coalition (previously known as the Global Pact Coalition) has been an active member since 2021, received the prestigious 2023 United Nations Human Rights Prize. This recognition highlights the intrinsic link between human rights and environmental protection, as well as the sustained efforts of the global community to promote them.

 

The Human Rights Prize, presented every five years for "outstanding achievement in the field of human rights", has previously been presented to notable figures such as Eleanor Roosevelt, Malala Yousafzai, Martin Luther King Jr. and Nelson Mandela.

 

This distinction awarded to a global coalition for the first time illustrates the impact and interest of a collaborative approach and strong partnerships with members of civil society. Thus the Coalition is rewarded for its essential role in advocacy which resulted, in 2022, in the recognition of the right to a healthy environment by the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA). The collective efforts of the Global Coalition have proven that working together is not only possible, but has a huge impact.

 

The Executive Director of the Green Rights Coalition, Victoria Lichet, joined members of the Green Rights Coalition in New York to receive this award.

Additional Protocol to the European Convention on Human Rights

Additional Protocol to the European Convention on Human Rights

The momentum generated by the recognition of the right to a healthy environment by the United Nations General Assembly in July 2022 has increased pressure for explicit recognition of this right within a binding legal framework of the Council of Europe. Thus the publication by the National Consultative Commission on Human Rights (CNCDH) of its Declaration (D-2023-3) pleads in favor of the inclusion of this fundamental human right within the European Convention on Human Rights.

 

The Green Rights Coalition, working closely with civil society organizations and influential figures such as the United Nations Special Rapporteur on Human Rights and the Environment, David Boyd, seized this opportunity to set up a campaign in favor of the integration of the right to a healthy environment. As an active member of this campaign, the Coalition mobilizes its network, particularly in France, to promote the right to a healthy environment and encourage support for this campaign.

Mountain River
The Global Pact for the Environment
Feuille verte en gros plan

The Global Pact for the Environment

The Global Pact for the Environment project has its origins in an international civil society initiative. It was proposed in June 2017 by an international network of around a hundred eminent jurists (professors, judges, lawyers) representing more than forty countries from the North and South.

Based on both the right to live in a healthy environment and the duty of care for the environment, the Global Pact gives citizens the legal means to be active in protecting the planet. It recognizes the fundamental principles of prevention and repair of damage to the environment and establishes the tools to implement them (rights to information and public participation, right of access to environmental justice).

It promotes the harmonization and clarification of standards for businesses, in order to avoid environmental dumping that is as dangerous for jobs as it is for the planet. In each state where it is ratified, it will lead legislators to enact new laws that are more protective of the environment. It will inspire judges to adopt more ambitious legal solutions.

Green Amendments for the Generations

The goal of Green Amendments For The Generations is to create a nationwide green amendment movement in the United States that would ensure that all Americans have the constitutional recognition and protection of their inalienable rights to clean water, clean air, a stable climate and a healthy environment .

The Green Rights Coalition is a partner of Green Amendments For The Generations and supports the recognition of the right to a healthy environment and its inclusion in the constitutions of each American state.

Enfants dans la ferme de légumes
Catastrophe naturelle

Maastricht principles on the Human Rights of Future Generations 

The Maastricht Principles for the Human Rights of Future Generations is an initiative in which the coalition participated, the aim of which is to elucidate the application of international law regarding the rights of future generations. The Maastricht Principles unify and update the evolving legal framework, strengthening the obligations of States and other entities under international law and human rights law. They offer an advanced interpretation of existing rights standards.

bottom of page

top of page

Campagnes

La Green Rights Coalition intensifie ses actions, et nous sommes particulièrement fiers de nos avancées. Découvrez quelques-uns de nos projets les plus récents. Explorez les détails de nos initiatives, apprenez qui bénéficie de notre soutien, et comprenez comment nous agissons pour façonner un avenir plus respectueux de l'environnement. Nous vous invitons à en apprendre davantage sur notre impact concret et sur la manière dont chacun peut contribuer à cette cause cruciale.

Copie de Template Insta (6).jpg

Coalition mondiale pour le droit à un environment sain

La Coalition Mondiale De La Société Civile, Des Peuples Autochtones, Des Mouvements Sociaux Et Des Communautés Locales Pour La Reconnaissance Universelle Du Droit De L’homme A Un Environnement Propre, Sain Et Durable, dont la Green Rights Coalition (anciennement Global Pact Coalition) est un membre actif depuis 2021, a reçu le prestigieux Prix des droits de l'Homme des Nations Unies de 2023. Cette reconnaissance souligne le lien intrinsèque entre les droits de l'homme et la protection de l'environnement, ainsi que les efforts soutenus de la communauté mondiale pour les promouvoir. 

 

Le Prix des droits de l'homme, décerné tous les cinq ans pour "des réalisations exceptionnelles dans le domaine des droits de l'homme", a déjà été remis à des personnalités remarquables telles qu'Eleanor Roosevelt, Malala Yousafzai, Martin Luther King Jr et Nelson Mandela. 

 

Cette distinction attribuée à une coalition mondiale pour la première fois illustre l'impact et l’intérêt d'une approche collaborative et de partenariats solides avec les membres de la société civile. Ainsi la Coalition est récompensée pour son rôle essentiel dans le plaidoyer qui a abouti, en 2022, à la reconnaissance du droit à un environnement sain par l’Assemblée Générale des Nations Unies (AGNU). Les efforts collectifs de la Coalition Mondiale ont prouvé qu'il est non seulement possible de travailler ensemble, mais que cela a un impact considérable.

 

La Directrice Générale de la Green Rights Coalition (anciennement Global Pact Coalition), Victoria Lichet, s'est jointe aux membres de la Coalition Mondiale à New York afin de recevoir ce prix.

Protocole additionnel à la CEDH

Protocole additionnel à la Convention européenne des droits de l'homme

L'élan suscité par la reconnaissance du droit à un environnement sain par l'Assemblée Générale des Nations Unies en juillet 2022 a accru la pression pour une reconnaissance explicite de ce droit au sein d'un cadre juridique contraignant du Conseil de l'Europe. Ainsi la publication par la Commission nationale consultative des droits de l’Homme (CNCDH) de sa Déclaration (D-2023-3) plaide en faveur de l'inscription de ce droit humain fondamental au sein de la Convention européenne des droits de l'homme.

 

La Green Rights Coalition (anciennement Global Pact Coalition), en collaboration étroite avec des organisations de la société civile et des personnalités influentes telles que le Rapporteur spécial des Nations Unies sur les droits de l'homme et l'environnement, David Boyd, se sont saisi de cette opportunité pour mettre en place une campagne en faveur de l’intégration du droit à un environnement sain. En tant que membre actif de cette campagne, la Coalition mobilise son réseau, notamment en France, afin de  promouvoir le droit à un environnement sain et encourager le soutien à cette campagne.

Mountain River
Pacte mondial pour l'environnement
Feuille verte en gros plan

Le Pacte mondial pour l'environnement

Le projet de Pacte mondial pour l’environnement trouve son origine dans une initiative de la société civile internationale. Il a été proposé en juin 2017 par un réseau international d’une centaine d’éminents juristes (professeurs, juges, avocats) représentant plus de quarante pays du Nord et du Sud.

Fondé tant sur le droit de vivre dans un environnement sain que sur le devoir de prendre soin de l’environnement, le Pacte mondial donne aux citoyens les moyens juridiques d’être des acteurs de la protection de la planète. Il reconnaît les principes fondamentaux de prévention et de réparation des dommages faits à l’environnement et établit les outils pour les mettre en œuvre (droits à l’information et à la participation du public, droit d’accès à la justice environnementale).

Il favorise l’harmonisation et la clarification des normes à destination des entreprises, afin d’éviter un dumping environnemental aussi dangereux pour les emplois que pour la planète. Dans chaque Etat où il sera ratifié, il conduira les législateurs à édicter de nouvelles lois plus protectrices de l’environnement. Il inspirera les juges pour l’adoption de solutions juridiques plus ambitieuses.

Green Amendments for the Generations

L’objectif de Green Amendments For The Generations est de faire naître un mouvement d'amendements verts aux États-Unis qui traverserait la nation et assurerait à tous les américains la reconnaissance et la protection constitutionnelles de leurs droits inaliénables à l’eau pure, à l’air pur, à un climat stable et à un environnement sain

La Green Rights Coalition est partenaire de Green Amendments For The Generations et soutient la reconnaissance du droit à un environnement sain et son inscription dans les constitutions de chaque État américain.

Enfants dans la ferme de légumes
Catastrophe naturelle

Maastricht principles on the Human Rights of Future Generations 

Les Principes de Maastricht pour les droits humains des générations futures constituent une initiative à laquelle la coalition a participé, dont le but est d'élucider l'application du droit international concernant les droits des générations futures. Les principes de Maastricht unifient et mettent à jour le cadre juridique évolutif, renforçant les obligations des États et d'autres entités en vertu du droit international et du droit des droits humains. Ils offrent une interprétation avancée des normes de droits existantes.

bottom of page